YOU Spectacular is back

“It has been called the Oscars of South Africa, and this year’s YOU Spectacular will live up to its reputation more than ever before,” YOU editor Linda Pietersen says. Directed and produced by award-winning creative guru Juanita Daniel and her team at KO Productions, the star-studded awards ceremony will take place on 27 July at The Lyric, Gold Reef City, Gauteng.

The formula that’s made this event such a success has not been tampered with much, but three new categories have been added to this year’s line-up: Most Stylish Man, Most Stylish Woman and Funniest South African.

The ultimate who’s who in the world of showbiz and sport will gather to celebrate local talent. Rub shoulders with the hottest local celebs at the trendy after-party and dance the night away to the grooves of DJs Sureshnie Rider, Angela Guastella and Nicole da Silva (DJ Duo).

It’s up to the public to vote for the stars they want crowned the winners. Vote for your favourite celebs and win great prizes: SMS the letters YS followed by the nominee’s code plus your name and city or town to 32113. Each SMS costs R1. Or go to and follow the instructions.

Tickets for the awards ceremony and show are available from Yumna Tofey and cost R120 per person. Call 021-406-4552 or e-mail

YOU Spectacular nominees 2013

Favourite TV presenter

1a Devi Sankaree Govender (Carte Blanche)

1b Proverb (Idols)

1c Pearl Thusi (The Real Goboza)

1d Bonang Matheba (Top Billing)

1e Jeannie D (Top Billing)

Favourite newcomer

2a Khaya Mthethwa

2b Jonathan Boynton-Lee

2c Luthando Shosha

2d Jimmy Nevis

2e Kyle Abbott

Favourite couple

3a Graeme and Morgan Smith

3b Gail Nkoane and Kabelo Mabalane

3c JP and Sue Duminy

3d Melinda Bam and Adriaan Bergh

3e Jack Parow and Jenna Pietersen

Sexiest woman

4a Lee-Ann Liebenberg

4b Gail Nkoane

4c Boity Thulo

4d Lalla Hirayama

4e Jay Anstey

Sexiest man

5a Lunga Shabalala

5b Francois Hougaard

5c Anga Makubalo

5d Sisa Hewana

5e Heino Schmitt

Most stylish woman

6a Jeannie D

6b Bonang Matheba

6c Lira

6d Poppy Ntshongwana

6e Minnie Dlamini

Most stylish man

7a Tyrone Keogh

7b AKA

7c Tumisho Masha

7d Arno Carstens

7e Simba Mhere

Favourite actress

8a Jay Anstey (Isidingo)

8b Diaan Lawrenson (7de Laan)

8c Kgomotso Christopher (Isidingo)

8d Katlego Danke (Generations)

8e Dawn Matthews (Scandal!)

Favourite actor

9a Clint Brink (Scandal!)

9b Kenneth Nkosi (Mad Buddies)

9c Vusi Kunene (Isidingo)

9d Christo Davids (7de Laan)

9e Jamie Bartlett (Rhythm City)

Favourite sport star

10a Faf du Plessis

10b Chad le Clos

10c Itumeleng Khune

10d Jean de Villiers

10e Dale Steyn

Favourite music star

11a Jack Parow

11b Toya Delazy

11c ChianoSky

11d Mi Casa

11e Lira

Favourite radio personality

12a Anele Mdoda (Highveld 94.7)

12b Unathi Msengana (Metro FM)

12c Poppy Ntshongwana (5FM)

12d DJ Fresh (5FM)

12e Rian van Heerden (Jacaranda FM)

Funniest South African

13a Riaad Moosa

13b Leon Schuster

13c Nik Rabinowitz

13d Marc Lottering

13e Gareth Cliff

Favourite soapie

14a 7de Laan

14b Isidingo

14c Generations

14d Scandal!

14e Rhythm City



About The Author

Spice4Life News

Leave a Reply